About Us
Like the United States, which is comprised of geographic territories called "states," the Society of Jesus is made up of territories called "provinces."

There are 83 Jesuit provinces around the world (although their number and boundaries have never been static). Each province has a superior who is simply called "the Provincial," and who, in turn, reports directly to the central Jesuit government or "curia" in Rome, headed by the Superior General. The current “Father General,” as he is often called, is Father Adolfo Nicolás, S.J., native of Spain.

In the United States, there are currently eight provinces. And there are many Jesuit communities within the provinces, each one usually headed by a "superior."

In addition, there are what the Jesuits call "assistancies" representing provinces within a nation or region. The American provinces, for example, form a single "assistancy." Its administrative arm is the Jesuit Conference of the United States. The Conference helps coordinate the relationships among all the various Jesuit entities, including service organizations and the provinces, as well as between them and the international headquarters in Rome.

Jesuit leaders from all countries meet from time to time for what are called General Congregations, often to elect a new Superior General and address important issues facing the order, the Church, and the world. There have been 35 General Congregations throughout the history of the Jesuits, and they are the highest governing authority of the Society of Jesus.

Since St. Ignatius bought a printing press in 1556, the Jesuits have been involved in communications. Today the Society of Jesus publishes a number of award-winning journals and publications. Click below to access our latest issues.

America - 11/24/14

America - 11/17/14

America - 11/10/14

History Mission and Ministries Structure Serving Christ and the Pope Superior General Jesuit Conference The Provinces
Global Community Protecting Children

Creighton University Retreat Center
Located 45 miles east of Omaha, Neb., in rural Iowa, the Creighton University Retreat Center is situated on 154 wooded acres on the Nishnabotna River.